Kylie Cosmetics – KOKO Collection Review

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

So the moment has finally come for me to write my first proper post. And, of course, I am diving head first with a controversial brand – Kylie Jenner’s extremely famous brand.

Undoubtely the products have cause a stir – either people hate them, or go absolutely bat shit crazy. You can read about her latest pop-up store and the crowds here

Until now I hadn’t been fazed about getting her stuff as you have to ship them from the USA to the UK and it costs a lot. So going against my own principle I found myself on her website looking at products and also obsessing (a little) over her Valentine’s collection.

Long story short – I ordered the KOKO Collection + the Burgundy palette + the Valentine’s lip kit. I’m gonna give a quick review and impressions after wearing all the colours on me for a few weeks now. This post will only be about the liquid lips as I think the eyeshadows could have their own moment in a another post.

First things first what attracted me was the packaging. I love everything that is golden, mettalic, sparkly and looks luxurious. Without a further ado, let them speak for themselves.

img_0089
From L to R – OKURR, KHLO$, DAMN GINA (gloss), GORG

Little detail to add as well, I was really impressed with the shipping length. It said for international deliveries it could take around 10-15 business (!) days, but I could already play around with them 10 days (including weekends) after shipment. So brownie points for that.

A quick desciption on the shades (swatches below):

  • OKURR – is a bright BRIGHT almost neon raspberry mix with strawberry. Definitely more on the pink side.
  • KHLO$ – a beautiful dark nude (whatver is interpreted with that) with brownish undertones
  • DAMN GINA – champagne colour gloss with golden and pink sparkles in them
  • GORG – a deep vampy burgundy
img_0094
From L to R – OKURR, GORG and KHLO$. (Hi eyeshadow in the back)
img_0096
DAMN GINA lip gloss. My hands are very red in real life, so it could change the tone of the gloss.

I must say I have been very impressed with the liquid lips so far. They apply really easily and I really like the wands. It is quite small and very firm, but ensures precise application. In comparison to other liquid lips that I use (e.g. Jeffree Star), this is much easier to manage. The darker shades, as with most brands, seem a bit trickier and more work to get even. OKURR and GORG require just a little more attention than GORG. And let me just make a little moment for GORG – it is one of the best nudes I have ever had and now is my go-to everyday office lipstick. It stays and doesn’t move around, it doesn’t stain your lips and doesn’t start crumbling at the end of the day.

d85bbf7efe7f530d8c4cf23391c2d269
Wands of Kylie’s lip kits. Credit: Yahoo!

All of the shades feel very light on the lips, but if you do apply a second coat (especially with the darker ones) then it does get a bit heavy and you can ‘feel it’. OKURR, for example, at the end of the day starts going in clumps which can be a little annoying, but I just wiped it off and re-applied. NOTE: IT STAINS YOUR LIPS LIKE A BITCH. Even after using a lip scrub, it still made my lips particularly bright, but, hey it’s what you sign up for when wearing neony lipsticks. And fair play – it proves it is longlasting. Big time.

The consistency of the lipsticks depending on shade varies. Once again the brighter shades are a bit more liquidy than the nude. And I mean veerry liquidy. It didn’t bother me, but might be important to some other consumers. Little side note- they have a particular smell, like vanillary, some others say it smells like liquorice. Once on your lips it loses the smell though, so it is the best of both worlds.

The retail price for this package was $40 which is around £32. For people in the UK remember you would also have to pay customs charges. The package, unfortunately, cannot be purchased anymore as it was limited edition, but I got it quite late so still wanted to feature it. It could be helpful when making a decision whether to buy any other lip kits.

Was it worth it? I think yes, apart from small cons like it being a little streaky, it is still workable and manageable. The shades are exactly to my taste, so I am happy I took the plunge.

In other related news, Kylie posted on her Instagram that she will be releasing a range of highlighters on 28/2/2017 so maybe if my bank account allows it I might purchase a few as I need to add some to my collection. Stay tuned!

p.s. I took the pictures with my humble iPhone 7 as I don’t have any professional uber cool cameras, nor any photographic skills. I gave it my best and am still learning.

Mwuah

kiss-mark-copy

Leave a Reply

